Meditations:Psalm 3- “Selah”

Selah is a musical notation, a mark to indicate a pause or change in the subject matter. For a child of God there is a pause as well, to find a bearing or catch his breath. It is required having as matter of necessity to interact with worldly people and with daily minutiae of living a quiet hour with God is find rest. In other words we refresh our soul. In the Book of Jeremiah we had found several instances where he gave vent to his deep felt emotions that bear relation to his role as a prophet charged by God to deliver some awful messages to the nation of Israel.

For instance consider the following passage: “Cursed be the day wherein I was born: let not the day wherein my mother bare me be blessed./15 Cursed be the man who brought tidings to my father, saying, A man child is born unto thee; making him very glad./16 And let that man be as the cities which the Lord overthrew, and repented not: and let him hear the cry in the morning, and the shouting at noontide;/17 Because he slew me not from the womb; or that my mother might have been my grave, and her womb to be always great with me./18 Wherefore came I forth out of the womb to see labour and sorrow, that my days should be consumed with shame?(Je.20:14-18)” Awful words indeed! Is it not?

The Spirit in setting his Jeremiad in the narrative instructs us our soul need to catch up with physical toil of man.  It is our inner world. God does indeed honor what we go through in such difficult times. We commune with our soul in its privacy and it is not the envelope of our conscious self but in terms of the constitution of eternal word it is to God whose breath has its claim.  It can be explained by what Jesus experienced in the night he was taken. He prayed for strength and that space we here talk about is as tangible as the angel who  stood with Jesus in his agony. “And there appeared an angel unto him from heaven, strengthening him(Lk.22:43)”. Our body does not have a clue as to the communications channels we have opened by accepting Jesus Christ as our Savior. The angel of his presence sent from heaven ought to remind the word forever settled in heaven (Ps.119:89).  So Jeremiah would have been, to all intent and practical purpose conversing with his inner man. Such disassociation where soul or nephesh  in Hebrew is ‘life’ a reflexive pronoun of himself is connected to the throne of grace.

In first two verses the Psalmist expresses his distress at the growing number of his critics while truth in his inward part (indicating his soul aspect) holds this statement as his bulwark, “For the Lord knoweth the way of the righteous (Ps.1:6).”

Before vv.3-4 the mark of selah signifies a change in the subject. leading to another statement of faith: “Salvation belongeth unto the Lord:..v.8)”

Angel of his presence helping us in our daily passages is very power and wisdom of the word of God we carry within.  Such is faith of the same quality as the creative faith which we read in Heb.11:3.  In short the word of God is like a lamp so our feet do not stumble though the burden of living weighs upon our shoulders. We are learning of our Lord Savior who is holding the other end of the yoke. Does it not suggest delight in the word and daily study gives us a fighting chance to make it through the day?’I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about(v.6?.” In the following verse we read that it is God who fights our battles. So like the Psalmist was helped let us hold on to the truth:’Salvation belongs unto the Lord.’

Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.

Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.

But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in bible study, God, meditations, Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Meditations:Psalm 3- “Selah”

Leave a comment