Bible Study: Trinity-soul Ge.14:8

And Melchizedek king of Salem brought forth bread and wine: and he was the priest of the most high God.”

Melchizedek presents himself as the king of Salem and as the priest of the most high God. He represented Trinity the same memorials before the throne of God mentioned in Re.5. Body and Spirit was signified in his own person. What was his gift to Abraham? Bread and wine represented the humanity of the Son. As Jesus reminded his disciples,” Jesus took bread, and blessed it, and brake it, and gave it to the disciples, and said, Take, eat; this is my body.”(Matt.26:26-29). As with bread the wine refers to his body. “Drink ye all of it;/For this is my blood of the new testament, which is shed for many for the remission of sins./But I say unto you, I will not drink henceforth of this fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.” Notice the expression, ‘until that day’? Drinking it new as with the new song refers to the glorious body which is distinct from what the disciples drank ‘unto this day’ in the company of the Son of man. Meat and drink of doing the will of God while in physical bodies we do in remembrance of what we drink in the Father’s kingdom. This is established by the Lamb slain who was worthy to open the book.(Re.5:6). The same in flesh was seen. “The Lamb of God” that takes away sin is how Spirit of the Father revealed it to John the Baptist.( John 1:29).

In the Father’s kingdom it is the throne of God and of the Lamb. Three aspects of truth established as a memorial in heaven. Soul of man where the breath of God has impressed and how does the Son work with it? “The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit./ Howbeit that was not first which is spiritual, but that which is natural; and afterward that which is spiritual.”(1 Co.15:45-46) Remember the wings full of eyes, before and behind? Who goes to life eternal? Sons of Adam has inheritance on the earth(De.32:2) while those sons adopted in the last Adam are quickened for the new earth.

Coming back to Melchizedek the gift of bread and wine was confirmation of the blessings determined in the everlasting covenant. Because of it the name of Abram shall be quickened to a new name. “Neither shall thy name any more be called Abram, but thy name shall be Abraham; for a father of many nations have I made thee.” (Ge.17:5)

Total sanctification gives the blessed similarly a new name. “To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.”(Re.2:17)

They shall also sup and drink it new ” I will not drink henceforth of this fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment