Bible Study- Ez.37 “Vision of Dry Bones”

“The hand of the Lord was upon me, and carried me out in the spirit of the Lord, and set me down in the midst of the valley which was full of bones.”(v.1)

Compare the manner Ezekiel is led by the hand as it were, with the vision shown to Jeremiah. “The Lord shewed me, and, behold, two baskets of figs were set before the temple of the Lord” and the Holy Spirit gives the context so it clearly connected with the current events, “Then said the Lord unto me, What seest thou, Jeremiah? And I said, Figs” (Je.24:3) The Lord God had touched the mouth of the young prophet. So he is trained to follow a vision when given from above. Whereas Ezekiel is addressed as the son of man and given the roll to eat. Clearly Prophet Ezekiel, the son of Priest Bucci is set by the Spirit as a double for the Son of man.

Ezekiel is carried over, as being led by the hand to examine the world of the spirit before the mountains were brought forth. Wisdom speaks of such a time,”While as yet he had not made the earth, nor the fields, nor the highest part of the dust of the world./ When he prepared the heavens, I was there:”(Pr.8:26-27).So the term valley is nuanced geography only existing in the mind of God. The night vision shown to Daniel (“one like the Son of man”-Dan.7: 13) similarly refers to a time before the worlds began.

Valley of Dry bones pertains to the mind of God and bones represent all those who were called into the fellowship of God with Man. The Lord is one so is the Gospel. Gospel of the Son or of Paul speaks of the same thing. Thus dryness of the bones merely clues us in the great army of saints chosen in Christ. “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ:/According as he hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world,”(Ep.1:3-4)

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment