Luke 16: 19-31 “The shroud”

And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.


There is a shroud that makes the living despise the word of God even though spoken by God. This shroud is upon the worldly and when Abraham advised the rich man he spoke as one who was the most suited to inform him. Abraham was clear eyed to tell the King of Sodom, ” That I will not take from a thread even to a shoelatchet, and that I will not take any thing that is thine, lest thou shouldest say, I have made Abram rich.” (Ge.14:23) Faith gave him a vision so his inner man knew where to look for his life and godliness. “By faith he sojourned in the land of promise, as in a strange country, dwelling in tabernacles with Isaac and Jacob, the heirs with him of the same promise:/For he looked for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God.” (He.11:9-10)
The Parable sets Lazarus in the line of vision of the rich man. He is a beggar and every time the rich man looked for guests to arrive in he might have looked but the beggar is not seen? What kind of vision is it, if I look at my watch but do not know what hour is it? This is the kind of blindness the rich man had developed. “And the vail that is spread over all nations” is what Satan has cast since he made man fall.

Like the rich fool in the parable the heart of the rich man left no room for anything other than his self aggrandisement. On death the rich man is set down in a place from where he can see the same Lazarus now in bliss. What is the gulf? The river of time of course. Everlasting blessing as promised under the covenant flows like a river unbroken, from everlasting to everlasting; on the other hand there is stream of fire that ends up at the lake of fire. Daniel’s night vision shows the fiery throne “And his wheels as burning fire./A fiery stream issued and came forth from before him.”(Dan.7:9-10)
Everlasting fire is prepared for the devil and his angels: (Matt. 25:41) It is thus the heart of man has to reckon both worlds.

God separated waters on the second day which runs into eternity. It is the river of time. Everlasting blessing as promised under the covenant from everlasting to everlasting; on the other hand there is stream of fire that ends up at the lake of fire. Blessed is the man who is planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season.”(Ps.1:3)
What is the heart of man where he is in the line of vision where the cloud of witnesses stand in attendance? So when Enoch and Noah walk with God, ” and he was not; for God took him.” (Ge.5:24). It is in the now. The Spirit does not have to mention concerning their vile bodies. Their witnessing gives them a body not made with hand and eternal.

Dust to dust is with regards to the outer man. The inner man was represented already as an angel in the presence of the Father. There is only single measurement in the world of the Spirit, man-angel. This speaks about the body God has prepared for the Son.(2 Co.5:1-3) So when Jesus Christ comes in glory with his holy angels they are right there. “Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:/ For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in:/ Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me:… Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?/And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” (Matt.25:34-40)
Who was Lazarus? He represented Christ. Since his atonement covered him the Rich man despised his saviour. What shall we speak of present class wars? Are we not despising Christ on the basis colour or race when we make their faith and ministry invisible?

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment