Job 42:1-6 “Face to face”

Job’s ear of faith was tuned to God but there shall come as with every saint a day the veil of body, garment of clay as Job would say, shall no more stand in the way. What is faith but seal of God’s sovereignty ? So everyone who exercise faith shall have a good report from God as these verses make clear. “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen./ For by it the elders obtained a good report./Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear(He.11:1-3). See note at the end for we need understand how the word of God preserve and work with every soul that has been foreknown.

 For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known(1 Co.13:12).

Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

I know that thou canst do every thing, and that no thought can be withholden from thee.

Who is he that hideth counsel without knowledge? therefore have I uttered that I understood not; things too wonderful for me, which I knew not.

Hear, I beseech thee, and I will speak: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

I have heard of thee by the hearing of the ear: but now mine eye seeth thee.

Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.

‘Things which are seen were not made of things which do appear’ what are seen are temporal like water vapor. It can vanish and its gaseous state is another state of being as ice. God refers to this,

“Hath the rain a father? or who hath begotten the drops of dew?/ Out of whose womb came the ice? and the hoary frost of heaven, who hath gendered it?/ The waters are hid as with a stone, and the face of the deep is frozen(38:28-30)”. Like Chinese boxes it is enigma wrapped in mystery. Our knowledge is like the grass,’the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more(Ps.103:16)”. Glory of God is eternal. What glory he had supposed was his, is now dust and ashes. What eternal glory of man signifies we have from God. as verses below makes clear,”

And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one;/And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one;/ I in them, and thou in me, that they may be made perfect in one.(John 17:22-23).” This is what St Paul means by ‘face to face’.

Now Job’s knowledge is not hearsay but realizing what temporal things mean: ashes and dust. (2 Co.4:18)

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment