Job 38:1-6 ; 33 Ordinances of Heaven

Knowest thou the ordinances of heaven? canst thou set the dominion thereof in the earth?(v.33)”

Here we have in clear terms reference to the Law or the Word. “For ever, O Lord, thy word is settled in heaven(Ps.119:89)”. This knows no bounds. “To all perfection I see a limit, but your commands are boundless./Oh, how I love your law! I meditate on it all day long./Your commands are always with me (Ps.119:96-98-NIV)” This is made possible by faith. Law is eternal .

“So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.(Is.55:11)” Here we have the Word and the divine Will as one with which God as a Spirit consequently establishes unity of the Spirit. What does this signify but heaven and earth is bound by the Spirit of God? In Genesis account the Spirit moving about the waters sensitized every matter and life form to know His sovereignty.

The voice of the Lord calls out and we know that faith was naturally part of it as overtones to a musical note. “ So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God”. No creature can excuse of not hearing it.

Now we shall taken up the text:vv.3-6

Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me./ Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding./ Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?/ Whereupon are the foundations thereof fastened? or who laid the corner stone thereof;”

‘Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding’ What answer shall we give?

There are three possible answers.

If one has not received the Son by faith he was dead in sins. He was called but has not heard. His state of death remains unresolved.

Second possibility is that by faith having received Jesus Christ he has become a new creation. Since there is only one faith he lives by faith is a proof that he was foreknown (the just shall live by faith). When God founded the earth he was already in the divine Will.

Third possibility is to be part of the works of God as well. Not only believing in the Son but also to be built up, and witness him, “For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ:/Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fulness of Christ(Ep.4:12-13): This is knowledge of the glory of God in the face of his Son, as indicated by the phrase, ‘or who laid the corner stone thereof’.

They have put the light on the candle stand and not under the bushel or under the bed. They live ‘the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.’ This is the hallmark of the children of light.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment