Job 25 Born of a woman

“Then answered Bildad the Shuhite, and said,/ Dominion and fear are with him, he maketh peace in his high places./ Is there any number of his armies? and upon whom doth not his light arise?/ How then can man be justified with God? or how can he be clean that is born of a woman?

“Behold even to the moon, and it shineth not; yea, the stars are not pure in his sight./  How much less man, that is a worm? and the son of man, which is a worm?”

This short chapter has two parallel ideas both of which arise from a faulty premise.

Glory and honor of God is such He is a class apart. Creator and creatures are irreconcilable because God shall not give his honor to another. “I am the LORD: that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another (Is.42:8a)”. Consequently Bildad argues,”Behold even to the moon, and it shineth not; yea, the stars are not pure in his sight.”

From the above we shall move onto the Immanuel concept which speaks of the Father Son relationship, ”Only begotten Son’ idea that accommodates believers into the Fellowship of God with Man.

The Son of man for instance was born of woman It was a sign as foretold by Isaiah. “Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel(Is.7:14)”.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment