Job 13:1-6 Job’s arguments

Lo, mine eye hath seen all this, mine ear hath heard and understood it./  What ye know, the same do I know also: I am not inferior unto you.” (vv.1-2)

The above argument is part of the parable #1 ‘Thou hast made me as the clay; and wilt thou bring me into dust again? (10:9)’ His argument goes only as far as his life experience goes in the world of the flesh. Why break up a body which is fashioned from the ground by God. What useless preoccupation a man has before him to gain experience and surely one day his case shall be that of a broken pitcher before the fountain. Level of knowledge each gains has its limit and characteristics. What this knowledge fails to impress us is this: “Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand,(Je.18:6)’. All we can do is to trust in the loving kindness of God.

As we shall see Job develops on his theme to say ‘Who can bring a clean thing out of an unclean? not one(14:4). His flaw is in the fact that he argues merely from his position from the world of the flesh. Breath of God made him a living soul; His spirit is in him (Ze.12:1). Truth in his inward parts does never change in the Land of the living. He fashioned hearts of all alike. But the vital point is that He shall try their works. How does our faith stand? Without faith we cannot please God. Mere lip service makes one hypocrite. Have we works to prove it? 

Surely I would speak to the Almighty, and I desire to reason with God.

But ye are forgers of lies, ye are all physicians of no value.

O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

Hear now my reasoning, and hearken to the pleadings of my lips.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment