Job 13: 20-26 “Book of Remembrance”

“Wherefore hidest thou thy face, and holdest me for thine enemy?/ Wilt thou break a leaf driven to and fro? and wilt thou pursue the dry stubble?(vv.23-24)”

Dust is made of fine particles of solid matter, soil lifted by wind, pollution volcanic eruptions burnt meteoric particles. When these accumulate daily each new layer exerting pressure of the one below creates natural history of our world. After some 63 millennia these dust has become sedimentary rocks. Sometimes when man digs into it he may find a fossilized plant life or a dinosaur neatly preserved giving us an idea of the flora and fauna of the ancient world. God does not need memory . Nature in obedience to the laws obeys God’s Law. Truth canot be kept out of His kingdom. Naturally in the Land of the living God all souls must come up before God. Evidence is there from both material and natural worlds.(Jas.5:3)

Job’s fears are real as sin that courses through blood stream of mankind. His adversary is not flesh and blood but as St Paul would say,”For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places(Ep.6:12). This is how the serpent beguiled Eve at the Garden of Eden. Since then we have been in the middle of a proxy war no less real than what we see in the present day Middle East politics. Israel,Yemen Saudi Arabia Iran are merely labels and what is propping them up but Satan the Adversary? “Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience(Ep.2:2)” How can children of light work with the same weapons that the children of disobedience?

Job’s sorrow is that he is born of woman and “Is of few days and full of trouble./ He cometh forth like a flower, and is cut down: he fleeth also as a shadow, and continueth not./ And doth thou open thine eyes upon such an one, and bringest me into judgment with thee?(14:1-3)”

Only do not two things unto me: then will I not hide myself from thee.

21 Withdraw thine hand far from me: and let not thy dread make me afraid.

22 Then call thou, and I will answer: or let me speak, and answer thou me.

23 How many are mine iniquities and sins? make me to know my transgression and my sin.

24 Wherefore hidest thou thy face, and holdest me for thine enemy?

25 Wilt thou break a leaf driven to and fro? and wilt thou pursue the dry stubble?

For thou writest bitter things against me, and makest me to possess the iniquities of my youth.

If thou, LORD, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?/But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.(Ps.13:3-4)

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment