Job 12 : 7-25 “Breath of All Mankind”

So far we have been focussing on Parables of Job of which we shall set down two. The second parable depends on the first. Once we understand the first it becomes evident that the second is not all great as it sounds. It is so because prosperity or wealth is not what defines a child of God.

Parable #1 “Thine hands have made me and fashioned me together round about; yet thou dost destroy me./ Remember, I beseech thee, that thou hast made me as the clay; and wilt thou bring me into dust again? (10:8-9)

We are all familiar with the lesson God wanted to teach Jeremiah at the potter’s house(Je.18:1-11). A pitcher fresh from the potters yard is not how it shall look given it is used every day in the eastern countries to fetch water from the well morning and evening, given the scarcity of water and the distance a carrier would have to cover. These are set down near the well each waiting her turn. Obviously wear and tear of our bodies leading to ‘pitcher broken at the fountain’ is similar to our physical bodies . Here is a verse “Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.(Ec.12:7).

Water carried within a pitcher takes the shape of the vessel. Each of us in the world of the flesh holds a view of the world from within. How objective can anyone of the Land of the living without ever leaving it? It is like having a view of our neighborhood without ever leaving home. It cannot be right. Isn’t it?

In the Land of the living how the Law of God operates and what we as carnal being infers from the laws of Nature cannot be true. Job understandably supposes in referring to death,’yet thou dost destroy me’. He errs because he has overlooked that God is a Spirit and as the Preacher says,’the spirit shall return unto God who gave it’. Jesus as the Good Shepherd promised those who follow him,’And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand(John 10:28)”.

Parable #2 “ I am as one mocked of his neighbour, who calleth upon God, and he answereth him: the just upright man is laughed to scorn.”v.4 and “The tabernacles of robbers prosper, and they that provoke God are secure; into whose hand God bringeth abundantly(v/12)”.

Argument vv.9-10

“Who knoweth not in all these that the hand of the Lord hath wrought this?/ In whose hand is the soul of every living thing, and the breath of all mankind.

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment