Gal.1:6-24 “to reveal his Son in me’

What is the meaning of witnessing? Have we not seen how nations send their accredited ambassadors who present themselves in their finery in the foreign countries? In their best the nations make a statement of sorts. Any discourtesy to him by the head of the host nation is received as an insult. So an ambassador must have a quality in his bearing and character an intrinsic value that shines through. Secondly he must have the right papers signed and sealed by the nation he represents. Without presenting it to the head of the foreign government he cannot be accepted officially or due privileges accorded. When a voice from heaven spoke as Jesus came out of water we have the classic accreditation: “And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway out of the water: and, lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove, and lighting upon him:/ And lo a voice from heaven, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased(Matt.3:16-17)”.The triune God was present there so to speak. In his baptism he fulfilled the righteousness, signifying an example or the way for all men to follow. What did he bring but the Word made flesh endorsed by his Father. The Gospel of God made his role very clear. In his death and resurrection  the Son on the other hand made the gospel very clear so there is only one official version put out by the Holy Spirit on divine Will and its fulfillment. Any other version is another gospel.

Those who espouse another gospel is compared to a thief.”Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that entereth not by the door into the sheepfold, but climbeth up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber(John 10:1)”. A close parallel we have in this Age of social media. In 2016 in connection with US Presidential election we have had PizzaGate: How 4Chan Uncovered the Sick World of Washington’s Occult Elite” on fake news websites The totally false conspiracy theory claims that Hillary Clinton and her former campaign chair, ran a child sex ring at the basement of a pizzeria in DC, Comet Ping Pong (which doesn’t have one). Over the following few weeks, Donald Trump supporters and white supremacists on social media pushed the conspiracy theory across fake websites that took on a life of its own.  A man walked into a pizzeria in Washington, DC, with an assault rifle and fired one or more shots that luckily did not injure or kill anyone. Fake news in our world is same as another gospel. When false ministers from pulpits all across the Christian world take up such heresies put out by anti-christ the consequences replicate these fake websites. Wealth and what passes for hedonistic lifestyles sound acceptable indeed. It is how simplicity that is in Christ becomes corrupted.

St Paul as the apostle presents to the Galatians as one separated by the Power and Wisdom of God,’God, who separated me from my mother’s womb, and called me by his grace(v.15) must address them by his credential which is the Gospel of Christ. There is no other.  The early church suffered great many persecutions that did not wipe out their faith. In their poverty was spiritual vigor of truth. How far Christianity forfeited it when Constantine Great adopted the state religion shall pose a great riddle. Arianism was a heresy, support for which had come from the palace itself. Yet we have the icon of Queen Helena venerated as a saint in the Eastern Orthodox Church hagiography.

 

I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that called you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel:

Which is not another; but there be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ.

But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.

As we said before, so say I now again, if any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed.

10 For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.

11 But I certify you, brethren, that the gospel which was preached of me is not after man.

12 For I neither received it of man, neither was I taught it, but by the revelation of Jesus Christ.

13 For ye have heard of my conversation in time past in the Jews’ religion, how that beyond measure I persecuted the church of God, and wasted it:

14 And profited in the Jews’ religion above many my equals in mine own nation, being more exceedingly zealous of the traditions of my fathers.

15 But when it pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb, and called me by his grace,

16 To reveal his Son in me, that I might preach him among the heathen; immediately I conferred not with flesh and blood:

17 Neither went I up to Jerusalem to them which were apostles before me; but I went into Arabia, and returned again unto Damascus.

18 Then after three years I went up to Jerusalem to see Peter, and abode with him fifteen days.

19 But other of the apostles saw I none, save James the Lord’s brother.

20 Now the things which I write unto you, behold, before God, I lie not.

21 Afterwards I came into the regions of Syria and Cilicia;

22 And was unknown by face unto the churches of Judaea which were in Christ:

23 But they had heard only, That he which persecuted us in times past now preacheth the faith which once he destroyed.

24 And they glorified God in me

About bennythomas

I am a Dutch citizen. An architect by profession I am married and have six grandchildren. I am still keen on expressing myself and each day is new and an occasion where I might bring out from within something worthwhile.
This entry was posted in bible study, St Paul-Galatians and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Gal.1:6-24 “to reveal his Son in me’

Leave a comment